PDA

View Full Version : Questions from an outsider...

Esoteric
09-15-2005, 06:10 PM
Hi,
Been lurking on your board for several months (as well as a couple other sXe boards) but I'm not edge. Actually, I'm an old college professor who is about as uncool as they come. The straight edge movement (phenomena?) was brought to my attention by several of my students and I developed a profound interest in it as I am working on a book on how youth develop and perceive personal ethical standards. Your group struck me as interesting in this area for two reasons: 1) you have a strong personal ethical code that 2) is perceived quite different from person to person.

All that blather aside (forgive me, I'm nervous), I have a lot of questions I'd like to ask. You may answer or not as is your prerogative but I'd appreciate any insight you can give me. I even welcome smart-aleck answers although be warned, I might not be able to tell the difference. Thanks for your time,
Esoteric.

Here are the first set of questions - they are more general and pertaining to the culture. I have more questions that I'd like to ask (if you all are okay with that) but I figured I shouldn't deluge you.

1. Does the sXe culture (I know it's not in the "code") include violence?
2. How are girl sXe viewed? Are they as accepted?
3. Do skateboarding and sXe go together? SXe and body art? SXe and a particular style of dress (black, punk, etc)?
4. Do the shows get violent?
5. What’s the difference between hardcore and emo?
6. Do you ever get attacked (either verbally or physically) for what you believe?

flame_still_burns
09-15-2005, 07:34 PM